Spider-Man 2

5 05 2007

spiderman

OK Gayle, I finally watched Spidey 2. And yes, I did enjoy it!

The good: Great action sequences and CG. Decent plot and character development. Film didn’t take itself too seriously. Elevator scene with the PR guy (I’d totally buy Thwip cologne!).

The bad: Editing should have been tighter – the film was slow in places and overlong (though the action sequences somewhat made up for it). Script writing was clumsy. Tobey Maguire; good fit for Peter Parker but just not charasmatic enough for a lead IMO…

But I definitely enjoyed it. Overall, 4/5.

Now I’ll have to see Spidey 3. 🙂 I just read on IMDB that the possibility of a Spider-Man 4 is already under discussion!

Somewhat-related trivia: Kirsten dunst has just one dimple, on her left cheek.

Actions

Information

One response

6 05 2007
Gayle

Glad you enjoyed it! I caught the second half of it on TV last night too. All revved up for the second one now, although the rotten tomatoes rating is not quite as glowing as its predecessors…62% (still falls into the fresh category though), compared to 92% for No. 2 and 90% for No. 1.

I disagree on Tobey Maguire. I think he’s fantastic (see The Cider House Rules, although he does tend to be the same character in most his movies). Might work better for the females though. He has a nice vunerability that works for Peter Parker. Kirsten Dunst, on the other hand, I really think she was miscast as MJ.

Leave a Reply

