Rock Climbing

9 03 2009

For the past couple of months, I’ve been going indoor rock climbing once a week.  Every Monday a few friends and I gather at the HardRock Climbing Centre in the city and punish our bodies by trying to haul them toward the top of the 25-odd metre roof.  Sometimes we even make it.

Thanks to Madjock for the cool photo of Hardrock!

For some reason, I find it really good fun.

I can’t put my finger on exactly why.  It’s satisfying, sure.  When you tap the pulley at the top of the wall you definitely get a sense of achievement.  It’s decent exercise; the heart rate certainly increases and, particularly on challenging climbs, you work up a fair sweat (well I do).  It’s a great combination of strength, will-power and technique – all are required to be successful.

Thanks to freelancing god for the shot of the ‘big pillar’ inside Hardrock.

I don’t know, it’s probably all of the above.  But climbing has become one of the highlights of my week.

We’ve got a fair-sized pool of regulars now, so there’s usually at least a few of us that go.  If you want to come along please get in touch!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 03 2009
Jiggy

Wouldn’t mind going, but it’s a bit difficult to get to the city from the ‘burbs on a weeknight. If you have any plans to climb at the Nunawading centre, let me know 🙂

11 04 2009
Rock Climbing Gear

Nice mounting walls that’s for sure, especially for beginners. I think a propel preparation is a must before going adventuring into unknown.

Leave a Reply

